Introducing the New Covenant Catechism for Little Ones

Back in 2014, I got the bright idea to start catechizing our children, beginning with our oldest son, Jakob, who was two at the time. Jakob (“Cubby”) and I started in on the New City Catechism by Tim Keller and Sam Shammas, which is a really helpful resource. Over the last three years, however, I found that my theology was developing, and I wanted a catechism for my kids that was a little more specific in certain areas, and that reflected some of my own clarified theological convictions. I did some research online, and discovered a number of really good catechisms aimed at children–many of which date back to the 18th and even the 17th Centuries–written by Puritans, Reformers, and even my personal hero and mentor, Charles Spurgeon. However, while these catechisms were good, none of them was quite what I was looking for.

So I decided to write my own.

I pored over the catechisms I had discovered, as well as historic and modern confessions of the faith.  I drew on them extensively, with my Bible open, checking the cross-references for biblical accuracy. After months and months of work, I finished it. Then I submitted it to some pastor friends, to put fresh eyes on it and tell me any changes they would make (the “New Covenant” in the title comes from Brother Paul Kaiser of New Covenant Baptist Church in Sacramento, CA).

The finished product, which I humbly present to you, is in accordance with the historic, orthodox Christian faith, rediscovered by the Reformation and restored recently by the movement known as New-Covenant Theology. It is not explicitly “confessional,” though it is in agreement with the 1644/1646 First London Baptist Confession of Faith.

I hope the New Covenant Catechism for Little Ones is of help to parents, children, and everyone who wants to grasp the foundational beliefs of Christianity. Eventually, I want to post some videos of me teaching it to my own children.

Antonio Salgado (missionary at Iglesia Bautisto de Hato Mayor) is currently working on a Spanish translation, so stay tuned for that.

Please, do not reproduce and distribute this without my express permission; if you do use it, give me proper attribution. And if you find it useful, let me know! I am happy to help in any way I can.

Click here for the catechism.

Author: Joel Settecase

Joel Settecase has served in pastoral and teaching roles at Grace Pointe Church in Plainfield, IL, as well as Chicago Hope Academy and Park Community Church in Chicago. He is the author of the New Covenant Catechism for Little Ones and the Settecase Student Ministry Learning Standards, and he has been blogging on ministry and apologetics since 2013. Joel is the proud husband of Aliza and father of three children.

Leave a Reply

